My tribe

LA Galaxy defender Franklin named MLS Rookie of Year

Major League Soccer has announced that Los Angeles Galaxy defender Sean Franklin has been named the 2008 Gatorade Rookie of the Year. The 23-year-old native of Palmdale, is the first Los Angeles Galaxy player to win Rookie of the Year honors.

The MLS Gatorade Rookie of the Year winner received the most votes from polling of media, MLS players and MLS coaches and general managers. All first-year players in MLS without previous professional experience were considered for the Gatorade Rookie of the Year award.

Previous winners have included Carlos Bocanegra, Clint Dempsey, Michael Parkhurst, Johnathan Bornstein and Maurice Edu.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?