My tribe

Hull boss Bruce bemoans missed penalty in Swansea draw

Hull City manager Steve Bruce felt aggrieved after his side were not awarded a penalty in their 1-1 draw with Swansea City at the Liberty Stadium on Monday night.

Danny Graham's early Tigers opener was cancelled out by a fortuitous Chico Flores goal in the second half but it was the incident when defender Alex Bruce's header hit the hand of Dwight Tiendalli which frustrated the visiting boss.

"Alex gets up well and he's (Tiendalli) practically caught the thing, why not let it hit his chest?," he told Sky Sports.

"I'll let everybody else see that, but that's a big decision with 10 minutes to go.

"The referee, who's had a smashing night and reffed particularly well, unfortunately he's missed that. For me, it's a clear-cut penalty with the law the way it is today."

As for Flores' 60th-minute goal, which deflected off his arm, Bruce suggested that was simply part of the game.

"It's fizzed in and he's turned away from it, and it hits his hand and goes in," he added.

"I can understand that because nobody in the ground can spot that. I've got no grievance there because of the way it has fizzed in, but it does strike his arm and go in the back of the net."

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?