It was 1-1 going into stoppages, but Kwadwo Asamoah’s goal was disallowed for a handling offence and with the last kick of the game Francesco Totti scored the winner.
“The referee cannot have seen the incident clearly, because Simone Perrotta’s push on Asamoah was so very obvious. Then in the very next move, Roma scored...
“I don’t want to go over the line, even if this was an evening in which we could’ve eliminated one of the contenders for the Champions League. Instead we let them back into the race.
“One must always maintain a certain balance and have faith in our referees, who do a difficult job. But that was obviously a penalty on Asamoah. Evidently he didn’t see the incident and I accept the result.”