Gold Coast United striker Shane Smeltz got back into goalscoring mode on the weekend to take his season tally to a landmark 10 goals. The New Zealand international scored the winner in the 56th minute against Perth Glory and has been by far the best striker of the current A-League season and leads the league goalscoring by an impressive five goals after round 11.

Melbourne Victory stars Archie Thompson and Carlos Hernandez lead the chase to run down Smeltz, both netting on five occasions as has North Queensland Fury's superstar import Robbie Fowler.

The trio have a load of work in front of them if they want to take the A-League Golden Boot award off the high-flying Smeltz who won the award last year by scoring 12 goals.

A-League goalscoring table 2009/10 - Round 11

10 Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United) 5 Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory) 5 Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory) 5 Robbie Fowler (North Queensland Fury) 4 Branko Jelic (Perth Glory) 4 John Aloisi (Sydney FC) 4 Mark Bridge (Sydney FC) 4 Matt Simon (Central Coast Mariners) 4 Sergio van Dijk (Brisbane Roar)