Mark Schwarzer and Tim Cahill have joined the likes of Harry Kewell, Mark Viduka and Lucas Neill in the Greatest Ever Australian Team.

Past and present players, fans and the media voted on the best 11 players to have represented Australia over the years with the announcement coming at a gala event in Sydney on Friday night .

Fulham's Schwarzer was the obvious number one choice in goals with Everton ace Cahill picked in midfield whilst Kewell and Viduka were named in an attacking three with Ray Baartz and current skipper Neill was named in defence.

The other six players to gain selection were the late Johnny Warren, Baartz, Alan Davidson, Ned Zelic and Joe Marston. Guus Hiddink was selected as coach for his efforts during, and prior to, the 2006 World Cup.

Greatest Ever Australian Football Team


Mark Schwarzer


Alan Davidson Craig Moore Joe Marston Lucas Neill


Tim Cahill Ned Zelic Johnny Warren


Harry Kewell Mark Viduka Ray Baartz

Coach Guus Hiddink

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today: