Several Premiership starlets have been nominated for the 'Golden Boy' award.

Winners in recent years include Wayne Rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Cesc Fabregas (2006) and Sergio Aguero (2007).

This year's 40-man short list includes Tottenham's Giovani dos Santos, Hull's Twitter miscreant Jozy Altidore and those who have barely get a game.

Spurs' Gareth Bale, Manchester United's Federico Macheda, Rodrigo Possebon, Rafael and Danny Welbeck and Chelsea new boy Daniel Sturridge are in contention despite hardly getting a sniff of first-team football.

The award is voted for by a grand jury of 30 journalists from across major European publications and let's hope they can pick a worthy winner from this mediocre bunch.