FIFA World XI named

The best eleven players for 2009 were named in the FIFA/FIFPro World XI at the FIFA ceremony in Zurich.

On the same night that Barcelona’s Lionel Messi was awarded as the FIFA World Player of the Year, the best starting XI was voted on by over 50,000 professional footballers from around the world.

The starting World XI is as follows:

Iker Casillas (Barcelona)

Dani Alves (Barcelona)
John Terry (Chelsea)
Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)
Patrice Evra (Manchester United)

Xavi (Barcelona)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Fernando Torres (Liverpool)

Have your say

Related Images