My tribe

FIFA announce ten-strong World Cup Golden Ball list

Fifa have announced the candidates for the World Cup Golden Ball - the award given to the best player of the finals. Unsurprisingly, Sunday's finalists Spain and Holland dominate the ten-strong list with five players between them.

David Villa, Xavi and Andres Iniesta make up the Spanish contingent with Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben as the Dutch representatives.

Another Barcelona representative is Lionel Messi who, despite not scoring a goal in the finals, demonstrated his ability with a series of dazzling performances.

Germany also enjoyed an excellent tournament despite coming up short in the semi-final against Spain, with midfielders Mesut Ozil and Bastian Schweinstegier named among the contenders.

Uruguay forward Diego Forlan also capped an excellent personal season by scoring three superb long-range goals to guide his side to the semi finals, but also taking a role as playmaker for the team.

Ghana striker Asamoah Gyan makes up the shortlist, having scored three goals and working tirelessly up front for the Black Stars.

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?