My tribe

FFA launch NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award

Football Federation Australia and National Australia Bank today announced details of a new football talent identification program developed to unearth and showcase the future stars of Australian Football.

The NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award will be awarded to the finest U/21 player talent throughout the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 competition. One nominee will be announced per month and all nominees will qualify to be named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award at the conclusion of the season.

The overall winner will receive a $10,000 personal investment portfolio, a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services, and the inaugural NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

To acknowledge the vital role junior football clubs play in the development of today's young stars, NAB will also provide a $3,000 equipment pack to the junior club nominated by each of the monthly nominees.

Today's announcement was made at the Sydney Football Stadium, home of Sydney FC, with an eligible player from each of the Australian-based Hyundai A-League clubs, as well as young representatives from their nominated junior clubs.

Players participating in the announcement were:

Scott Jamieson - Adelaide United Luke DeVere - Brisbane Roar David D'Apuzzo - Central Coast Mariners Tahj Minniecon - Gold Coast United Nathan Elasi - Melbourne Victory Jason Hoffman - Newcastle JetsOsama Malik - North Queensland FuryScott Neville - Perth GloryKofi Danning - Sydney FC

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?