My tribe

FC Twente boss McClaren up for Dutch coach of the year

Former England and Middlesbrough boss Steve McClaren is up for Dutch coach of the year.

FC Twente coach McClaren has been nominated for the prestigious Rinus Michels Award alongside Ajax's Martin Jol, Feyenoord's Mario Been and Heracles Almelo's Gertjan Verbeek, who today agreed to take charge of AZ Alkmaar from next season.

The Professional Football Coaches group announced the nominees on Thursday, with the winner to be named at an awards ceremony on May 14.

The former Middlesbrough manager's Twente side require victory over PSV Eindhoven on May 2 to secure the title.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?