Former ref Graham Poll insists Manchester United winger Ashley Young won a legitimate penalty at Real Sociedad on Tuesday.

Young has been condemned for his actions.

But Poll wrote in the Daily Mail: "Ashley Young was fouled by Markel Bergara last night and, by the letter of the law, referee Nicola Rizzoli was absolutely correct in awarding a penalty.

"Yes, the contact by the defender was not massive and it certainly did not appear to warrant the dramatic fall which Young 'performed' but technically it was a foul."

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: