My tribe

Ex-Blackburn star Emerton to skipper new-look Socceroos

Holger Osieck has named his final 20-man Australian squad for next week's East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) East Asian Cup 2013 qualifying tournament.

The Socceroos depart for Hong Kong on Friday and will have a whole new bunch of players involved as Osieck opts for a different look.

The German has named Sydney FC star Brett Emerton as captain in Lucas Neill's absence as he includes a number of first time selectees mainly from A-League clubs.

The likes of Terry Antonis, Dino Djulbic, Ivan FranjicMichael Marrone, Aaron Mooy, Mat Ryan, Matt Smith and Adam Taggart could all make their international debuts against Hong Kong on Monday 3 December.

The Socceroos' other matches are against DPR Korea on Wednesday 5 December, Guam on Friday 7 December and Chinese Taipei on Sunday 9 December.

The EAFF East Asian Cup will be held in Seoul, Korea Republic from 20-28 July 2013.

Australian squad for EAFF East Asian up qualifiers

Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) Eli Babalj (Red Star Belgrade) Aziz Behich (Melbourne Heart) Robert Cornthwaite (Chunnam Dragons) Dino Djulbic (Guizhou Renhe) Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar) Brett Emerton (Sydney FC) Eugene Galekovic (gk) (Adelaide United) Richard Garcia (Melbourne Heart) Scott Jamieson (Perth Glory) Michael Marrone (Melbourne Heart) Matt McKay (Busan I'Park) Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory) Aaron Mooy (Western Sydney Wanderers) Tomas Rogic (Central Coast Mariners) Mat Ryan (gk) (Central Coast Mariners) Matt Smith (Brisbane Roar) Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets) Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory) Michael Thwaite (Perth Glory)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?