My tribe

Ex-Arsenal, Barcelona ace Henry 'intentionally made contact' for his red card - ref

Referee Kevin Stott believes New York Red Bulls star Thierry Henry 'intentionally made contact' with Sporting Kansas City's Roger Espinoza on the weekend.

The former Arsenal and Barcelona ace was sent from the pitch in the 28th minute of his side's eventual 2-0 loss when he collided into the back of Espinoza with his knee when the KC man was on the ground.

Stott was quick to make the call in sending Henry off despite the Frenchman's protests that he was innocent and wrote in his match report that it was indeed an intentional act.

"In my opinion, (Henry) did intentionally move to make contact with Espinoza," Stott wrote. "I can only state that in my opinion the act was intentional. I cannot decide on whether harm was intended."

Espinoza also had words to say about the incident and admits he felt strong contact when he was not playing the ball.

"I remember we were fighting for the ball and it went to my right a little bit so I slide tackled and played it," he said. "All of a sudden, I just felt a knee in my shoulder. I thought someone just ran through me."

Henry will now miss the weekend's final regular season clash with Philadelphia Union in which the Red Bulls need a win to qualify for the play-offs.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?