My tribe

Donovan named 2010 USA Player of the Year

LA Galaxy's Landon Donovan has been named the 2010 USA Player of the Year. The 28-year old was voted for by about 200 journalists across the USA as the best player for the 2010 calendar year, notching up the seventh time he has taken out the honour.

Donovan received 403 votes, beating Michael Bradley (169) and Clint Dempsey (157) to grab his fourth award in a row after scooping the 2007, 2008 and 2009 prizes.

The Player of the Year Award has honored 12 different players in its 20 year history: Landon Donovan (2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 2003 and 2002), Clint Dempsey (2006), Kasey Keller (2005, 1999), Earnie Stewart (2001), Claudio Reyna (2000), Cobi Jones (1998), Eddie Pope (1997), Eric Wynalda (1996, 1992), Alexi Lalas (1995), Marcelo Balboa (1994), Thomas Dooley (1993) and Hugo Perez (1991).

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?