My tribe

CSKA's Honda leads the way as Asian Player of the Year cut to six

Japan star Keisuke Honda is among six players in the running for the 2011 Asian Football Confederation Player of the Year award after AFC announced the third shortlist on Wednesday.

The CSKA Moscow attacker is joined by Blue Samurai teammate Shinji Kagawa of Borussia Dortmund whilst South Korea's Koo Ja-cheol and Yeom Ki-hun, Iran defender Hadi Aghily and Uzbekistan's former winner Server Djeparov have also found a place in the top six.

The AFC Player of the Year award will be presented at a grand ceremony on November 23, 2011, at the Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

List of contenders for the 2011 AFC Player of the Year

Hadi Aghily (Iran) Keisuke Honda (Japan) Koo Ja-cheol (Korea Republic) Server Djeparov (Uzbekistan) Shinji Kagawa (Japan) Yeom Ki-hun (Korea Republic)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?