My tribe

Columbus Crew gets squad alterations underway

The Columbus Crew has picked up the contract options on 10 players from the 2012 roster whilst denying seven players the chance to return next year.

The Crew exercised the options of goalkeepers Andy Gruenebaum and Matt Lampson, defenders Eric Gehrig and Josh Williams, midfielders Bernardo Anor, Dilly Duka, Ethan Finlay and Kevan George, and forwards Justin Meram and Aaron Schoenfeld.

Subsequently, goalkeeper William Hesmer, defenders Rich Balchan, Julius James and Sebastian Miranda, midfielders Chris Birchall and Tony Tchani, and forward Tommy Heinemann were all discarded.

"Offseason roster decisions are never easy, and this year is no different," said Crew Technical Director Brian Bliss.

"While we've declined options on a number of players, we will continue conversations with some of those individuals to potentially return to the club. Further roster announcements will be made in the weeks ahead, and we're excited to build upon the successful core we developed throughout 2012."

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?