My tribe

Chelsea pair Essien, Drogba up for African Player of the Year

Chelsea stars Didier Drogba and Michael Essien are up for African Player of the Year.

Drogba, winner of the award in 2006, and Essien, who has been in the final three for the past four years but never the winner, are joined by a player they will soon be in Champions League contest with - Inter's Samuel Eto'o.

Seydou Keita and Yaya Toure, both of Barcelona, were on the initial five-man shortlist but failed to make the cut.

The winner, decided by a poll of the national coaches from 53 African countries, will be announced at an Awards Gala on 11 March in Ghana.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?