My tribe

Chelsea boss Mourinho explains accepting FA charge

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has decided to accept his FA charge.

Mourinho has confirmed he will not contest the FA's improper conduct charge which followed his dismissal from the touchline during Chelsea's 4-1 win against Cardiff on Saturday.

Mourinho will be fined £8,000 and will be back on the touchline for Sunday's clash with Manchester City at Stamford Bridge.

Asked after his team's 3-0 win away to Schalke if he planned to fight the charge, the Chelsea boss said: "No. For me, there are two important things. One thing is what the referee wrote in his report, which I read. And he is honest and fair.

"What he wrote is exactly what happened and is exactly why I didn't understand why I went to the stands, and it is exactly why the punishment is justified and the other thing is not to be suspended from the next match.

"What the referee wrote is the truth. I was not offensive or aggressive, I didn't use offensive words. I just had a bit of a disagreement.

"In the game, it can be resolved with a: 'Shut up and sit down.' You don't need to send me to the stands. But the referee was honest with what he wrote, so I accept the fine and, against Manchester City, I can work."

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tribalfootball

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?