My tribe

Celtic players dominate Player of the Year award

Despite Rangers being in line to claim a domestic treble, Carlos Cuellar is the only Ibrox player nominated alongside Scott McDonald, Aiden McGeady and Barry Robson, who moved to Parkhead from Dundee United in January.

McGeady is also on a five-man shortlist for the young player award, alongside Falkirk midfielder Scott Arfield, Hibernian forward Steven Fletcher, Motherwell's Ross McCormack and Dundee midfielder Kevin McDonald.

The successor to Celtic midfielder Shunsuke Nakamura will be announced at a dinner at the Glasgow Hilton on April 20. PFA Scotland chief executive Fraser Wishart said: "This is the top award for players.

There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your fellow professionals."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?