My tribe

Castrol rankings rate Australia's Best XI

The Castrol Performance Index has rated the best eleven players in Australia's World Cup history. The ranking system sponsored by Castrol for football all over the world uses mathematical formulas to evaluate player performance in terms of individuals actions in either, scoring, assisting or preventing goals.

Below is Castrol's take on the Socceroos Greatest XI from their World Cup performances including players from as far back as 1974.


Jack Reilly (1974)


Manfred Schaefer (1974) Peter Wilson (1974) Lucas Neill (2006) Craig Moore (2006)


Scott Chipperfield (2006) Tim Cahill (2006) Vince Grella (2006) Jason Culina (2006)


Adrian Alston (1974) Mark Viduka (2006)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?