My tribe

Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory preview

The league leaders, who are the heaviest scoring team in the competition, take on the club who have conceded the most goals and have the worst goal difference in what should be a lop-sided affair.

Brisbane Roar have taken sides apart this season with their brilliant passing game and creativity and I fear, after being held to a 1-1 draw by bottom-placed North Queensland Fury, will be keen to break the shackles and put a few past the Perth Glory.

With just one win in their past 12 matches, the Glory simply do not know how to win and I doubt they can overcome a side who have dropped just one game so far this season.

This one seems to me to be as one-sided as they come although football has a knack of providing results that are completely against the expected.

But surely the Roar are capable of putting at least a couple past the Glory and continuing their dominance on the A-League.

Verdict : 2-0 Roar

Brisbane Roar vs. Perth GloryDate: Wednesday, 24 November 2010 Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Local kick-off: 8:00pm (9.00pm AEDT) Referee: Matthew Gillett Match fact:- Having remained undefeated in their previous 12 matches, Brisbane Roar are aiming to equal the Hyundai A-League all-time longest undefeated streak record (13). The current record of 13 undefeated matches in a row was set by Adelaide United in February - October 2010.

- Brisbane Roar midfielder Massimo Murdocca is set to make his 100th Hyundai A-League appearance.

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1, FS1 HD & Sky Sport 2 (NZ). Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is 882 6PR (Perth). To purchase tickets visit

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2. Matt SMITH, 3. Luke DEVERE, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Erik PAARTALU, 7. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA, 9. Jean Carlos SOLORZANO, 11. REINALDO, 12. Matt MUNDY, 14. Rocky VISCONTE, 15. Matt McKAY, 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 20. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 21. James MEYER, 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Milan SUSAK *three to be omitted* In: Rocky VISCONTE (promoted), Luke BRATTAN (promoted), James MEYER (promoted) Out: Nil Unavailable: HENRIQUE (broken arm - indefinite), Shane STEFANUTTO (hamstring 4-6 weeks)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Josh MITCHELL, 3. Jamie COYNE, 5.Jamie HARNWELL, 7.Jacob BURNS (C), 9.Robbie FOWLER, 10.Michael BAIRD, 11. Branko JELIC, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 13.Tommy AMPHLETT, 14.Steven McGARRY, 15.Howard FONDYKE, 16. Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20. Aleks VRTESKI (gk), 21.Mile STERJOVSKI, 24. Josh RISDON *three to be omitted* In: Jamie HARNWELL (returns from injury), Branko JELIC (promoted), Scott NEVILLE (returns from suspension), Howard FONDYKE (promoted) Out: Brent GRIFFTHS (suspended - 1 game) Unavailable: Andy TODD (Hip - 2 weeks) Chris COYNE (on loan -January), Victor SIKORA (Hip - 2 weeks), Brent GRIFFTHS (suspended - 1 game)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?