My tribe

Brisbane Roar's Broich takes out Johnny Warren Medal

Brisbane Roar midfielder Thomas Broich has taken out the Johnny Warren Medal as the best player for the 2011/12 Hyundai A-League season.

The German star became the first Brisbane player to win the award, beating teammate Besart Berisha who was ineligible due to suspension, and Melbourne Victory striker Archie Thompson.

Broich, who joins past winners Bobby Despotovski, Nick Carle, Joel Griffiths, Shane Smeltz, Carlos Hernandez and Marcos Flores, was again at the forefront of a great Roar side after helping the club to the 2010/11 Championship/Premiership double ahead of this season's Grand Final where the reigning champs await the winner of the Preliminary Final between Central Coast Mariners and Perth Glory.

The 2011/12 A-League Awards were held in Sydney on Tuesday night with the likes of Mariners goalkeeper Mathew Ryan, Roar striker Berisha and Mariners coach Graham Arnold also among the prizes.

2011/12 A-League awards

Johnny Warren Medal - Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar) NAB Young Footballer of the Year - Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners) Goalkeeper of the Year - Mathew Ryan (Central Coast Mariners) Nike Golden Boot - Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar) Solo Goal of the Year - Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory) Coach of the Year - Graham Arnold (Central Coast Mariners) Referee of the Year - Jarred Gillett Fair Play Award - Brisbane RoarW-League Player of the Year - Sally Shippard (Canberra United) National Youth League Player of the Year - Nick Fitzgerald (Brisbane Roar)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?