My tribe

Big MLS influence helps NZ in World Cup qualifying

New Zealand has advanced to a playoff against the fifth placed Asian team set for next year after clinching the Oceania World Cup qualifying title. Several current and former MLS players are part of the present Kiwi setup. Toronto FC striker Jarrod Smith, Columbus Crew midfielder Duncan Oughton and New York Red Bulls defender Andrew Boyens all play regular roles for New Zealand.

Former D.C. United defender Ryan Nelsen, former Columbus and LA Galaxy midfielder Simon Elliot and former New England Rev Tony Lochhead are also Kiwi regulars.

In partnership with:  

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?