Former Premier League stars David Beckham and Thierry Henry have both been selected in the 2011 MLS Team of the Year.

The Best XI, announced by Commissioner Don Garber, recognizes the league's top 11 players at each position on the field - one goalkeeper, three defenders, five midfielders and two forwards.

LA Galaxy midfielder Beckham had his best MLS season since arriving in 2007 as he helped guide his club into the MLS Cup final whilst New York Red Bulls striker Henry netted 14 goals in his first full season.

Joining Beckham are Galaxy teammates Landon Donovan, Todd Dunivant and Omar Gonzalez whilst Henry sees one-time teammate Dwayne De Rosario (DC United) selected in midfield.

Retired Seattle Sounders goalkeeper Kasey Keller capped off a brilliant career with selection whilst Houston Dynamo midfielder Brad Davis, Real Salt Lake defender Jamison Olave, FC Dallas winger Brek Shea and San Jose Earthquakes striker Chris Wondolowski making up the team.

2011 MLS Best XI

Goalkeeper Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC)

Defenders Todd Dunivant (LA Galaxy) Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy) Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MidfieldersDavid Beckham (LA Galaxy) Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) Dwayne De Rosario (DC United) Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Forwards Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls) Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the nation on Facebook today: