My tribe

AZ Alkmaar's Holman takes out media's Australian player of the year

Brett Holman has been named the International Player of the Year by Australia's Football Media Association (FMA) at the annual Black Tie Australian Football Awards held in Sydney.

The AZ Alkmaar midfielder beat Mile Jedinak, Matt McKay, Carl Valeri and Luke Wilkshire to the award after being adjudged the best player over a 15-match period in 2010/11.

"Brett Holman was the runaway favourite of members of the FMA for this year's award," said FMA President, Steve Dettre of Infostrada Sports, in presenting the award.

"Brett showed his value as an international player at last year's World Cup responding to some of his critics in the best way possible - by doing the business on the pitch.

"His form continued throughout 2010-11 starting with the first game in the voting year when the Socceroos met Slovenia in Ljubljana last August.

"The view of FMA members is that, in 2010-11, Holman has been instrumental in bringing a more fluent style of play to the national team and Australia looks more threatening in attack when he is in full flight," Dettre concluded.

Previous winners of the FMA International Player of the Year Award are Mark Schwarzer (2009) and Tim Cahill (2010).

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?