My tribe

Australia U20 World Cup lead-up squad announced

The Young Socceroos squad for an U20 lead-up tournament in Argentina has been announced.

Qantas Young Socceroos Head Coach Jan Versleijen has selected a squad of 20 players to participate in the Copa Ciudad de Rosario in Argentina as part of his team's preparations for the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup to be held in Egypt starting in two months time.

The touring squad is comprised of 16 players from Hyundai A-League and National Youth League clubs and four players from overseas clubs.

The Qantas Young Socceroos will face fellow FIFA U-20 World Cup finalists Uruguay and the United States of America as well as Argentinean Youth team C.A. Tiro Federal.

"This South American tour is extremely important for us as we have drawn Brazil and Costa Rica at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt," said Versleijen.

"This will be our last major training camp before the tournament itself and also the last opportunity for the players to push for selection at the World Cup.

"Playing in South America will help us learn much about the style of the opponents we will face in Egypt.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the Hyundai A-League clubs for their cooperation and support for this important tour.

"It is in our collective interest that the players are playing at the highest levels in the lead up to the FIFA World Cup and we will do everything that we can to ensure that is the case," concluded Versleijen.

The Qantas Young Socceroos have been drawn in Group E for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009, alongside Brazil, Costa Rica and the Czech Republic.

The FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009 will be played from 24 September to 16 October.

The Qantas Young Socceroos will assemble in Sydney on Monday 20 July for a two day camp and will depart for Argentina on Wednesday 22 July.

The Young Socceroos squad is as follows:

Luke Brattan (Brisbane Roar), Isaka Cernak Okanya (Brisbane Roar), Alex Cisak (Leicester City, UK), Peter Cvetanovski (Borussia Moenchengladbach, Germany), Kofi Danning (Sydney FC), Luke DeVere (Brisbane Roar), Nathan Elasi (Melbourne Victory), Antony Golec (Sydney FC), Jason Hoffman (Newcastle Jets), Matthew Jurman (Sydney FC), Osama Malik (North Queensland Fury), Tahj Minniecon (Gold Coast United), Aaron Mooy (Bolton Wanderers, UK), Sam Munro (Sydney FC), Jason Naidovski (Newcastle Jets), Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar), Chris Payne (Sydney FC), Andrew Redmayne (Central Coast Mariners), Nikola Stanojevic (AIS), Rocco Visconte (Hearts FC, Scotland).

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?