My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Australia's final World Cup squad announced

The final 23-man squad for Australia's World Cup campaign has been announced by head coach Pim Verbeek. Verbeek cut five players today from his preliminary squad of 28 with stand-by goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic and youngsters Tommy Oar and James Holland knowing their fate before the final decision.

Today, Aston Villa defender Shane Lowry was cut whilst Middlesbrough midfielder/defender Rhys Williams will return to England because of an injury that will keep him out of the tournament.

Australia was the last team to announce their squad because Verbeek wanted to personally inform the players that did not make the cut.

23-man Australia squad for World Cup


Mark Schwarzer (Fulham) Adam Federici (Reading) Brad Jones (Middlesbrough)


Scott Chipperfield (FC Basel) David Carney (FC Twente Enschede) Lucas Neill (Galatasaray) Michael Beauchamp (Melbourne Heart) Craig Moore (unattached) Mark Milligan (JEF United) Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow)


Vince Grella (Blackburn Rovers) Carl Valeri (Sassuolo) Jason Culina (Gold Coast United) Mile Jedinak (Genclerbirligi) Tim Cahill (Everton) Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar) Dario Vidosic (FC Nuermberg) Mark Bresciano (unattached) Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers) Richard Garcia (Hull City)


Nikita Rukavytsya (FC Twente Enschede) Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus) Harry Kewell (Galatasaray)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?