My tribe

Australia earn multiple nominations for AFC Awards 2010

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) will today announce the winners of the AFC Awards 2010 with Australia being nominated in eight categories including the AFC National Team of the Year - Qantas Socceroos, AFC Women's National Team of the Year - Westfield Matildas, Westfield Matilda and Perth Glory striker Katie Gill for the AFC Women's Player of the Year and recently capped Qantas Socceroo and captain of the AFC Champions League winning club Seongnam Ilhwa, Sasa Ognenovski, for the AFC Player of the Year.

The Westfield Matildas nomination has capped off a stellar year for the team that includes winning the AFC Women's Asian Cup, qualifying for the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup, a runners-up medal at the 2010 Peace Queen Cup in Korea Republic and an impressive record of nine wins, one draw and three losses. In addition, the Westfield Matildas have also been nominated for the Sports Performer Team of the Year award and young-Western Australian Sam Kerr has been nominated for the 2010 AIS Junior Athlete of the Year.

Speaking on the eve of the awards, Katie Gill was proud to be nominated amongst Asia's best footballers.

"I'm really enjoying my football and this year has been fantastic not only for myself and the Westfield Matildas but also for the sport," said Katie Gill.

"We're three weeks into a very exciting and competitive Westfield W-League season and we're only seven months away from the (FIFA Women's) World Cup.

"I'm thrilled to be nominated and representing not only my team but my country in KL (Kuala Lumpur) tomorrow night but my focus is very clearly on working towards June next year.

"Winning the AFC Women's Asian Cup was a dream come true and we will use it as a launch pad for the World Cup next year."

The Qantas Socceroos will also be in contention to claim their respective award after competing at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa qualifying for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2011 and are currently the top ranked team in the confederation.

Also nominated are Football Federation Australia for AFC Member Association Of The Year and the Dream Asia Award (AFC's Social Responsibility initiative), AFC Women's Match Commissioner of the Year Eugenie Buckley and Sarah Ho for AFC Women's Assistant Referee of the Year.

The AFC Awards 2010 will be held tonight, November 24, 2010, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Todayis the final day of voting for the Sports Performer of the Year award with the Westfield Matildas and Tommy Oar both being nominated in the categories of Team Performance of the Year and Young Performer of the Year respectively.

Sports fans can vote for their Performer of the Year by visiting www.performerawards.com.au up until Wednesday 24 November with the winners to be announced at a gala function which will be held at the Crown Casino, Melbourne, on Tuesday, November 30, 2010.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?