My tribe

All-star game vote heats up

With three weeks remaining; the race is heating up in the fan voting for the 2009 MLS All-Star Game.

Eight of the fans' First XI are still from the Seattle Sounders FC, but Guillermo Barros Schelotto and Frankie Hejduk of the defending MLS Cup champion Columbus Crew are two of the biggest movers from last week and have both made their way into the group.

Schelotto, who leads Major League Soccer with 10 goals, has plenty of competition in the midfield. Toronto FC star Dwayne De Rosario and Seattle's Brad Evans are neck and neck with Mexican international Cuauhtémoc Blanco from the Chicago Fire trailing closely behind.

Seattle FC's Freddie Ljungberg is second in overall voting, behind teammate Kasey Keller, who is second in the league with a 0.71 goals against average, and is followed by Oswaldo Alonso, Steve Zakuani and Sebastien Le Toux among midfielders.

Fans have until July 6 to vote for the All-Star First XI online by selecting one goalkeeper, three defenders, five midfielders, and two forwards. Fans can vote up to 10 times per day. The online fan balloting program will comprise 25 percent of the total vote for the All-Star First XI, with coaches and general managers, players, and media each holding 25 percent of the vote.

Those selected will participate in the 14th annual MLS All-Star Game and take on Everton of the English Premier League at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah on July 29 at 9:30 p.m. ET.

The game will be televised in the U.S. on ESPN2 and Telefutura.

About the author


Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?