My tribe

Adelaide's Leckie wins January Young Player nomination

Football Federation Australia and NAB have announced the sixth and final nominee for the 2009/10 NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award.

Matthew Leckie of Adelaide United was voted as the most outstanding U/21 player for the month of January.

Determined by a panel of experts the NAB Young Footballer of the Year - January nominee, Matthew Leckie, was judged on his performance over rounds 22-26 of the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 competition.

Matthew Leckie is the sixth and final nominated player to be announced and joins Sydney FC's Kofi Danning, Melbourne Victory's Leigh Broxham, Brisbane Roar's Tommy Oar, North Queensland Fury's Rostyn Griffiths and Newcastle Jet's Ben Kantarovski to qualify to be named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year at the Hyundai A-League Awards.

The overall winner will receive a $10,000 personal investment portfolio, a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services, and the inaugural NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award.

To acknowledge the vital role junior football clubs play in the development of today's young stars as they strive to reach their potential, NAB will also present a $3,000 equipment pack to Matthew Leckie's nominated junior club, Bulleen Lions Junior Football Club.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?