My tribe

A-League snapshot - Round 11

Welcome to Round 11 of the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 season. This week sees Adelaide United take on league leaders Sydney FC at Hindmarsh Stadium.

Brisbane Roar will try and retain a place in the top half of the table as they face the Mariners at Suncorp Stadium in a battle between 5 v 6.

North Queensland Fury and Wellington Phoenix will both be looking to secure maximum points and their second wins of the season in their fights to claw their way up the table.

In Newcastle, Melbourne Victory will be looking to make amends for their Round 10 clash with Sydney FC when they face the Jets at EnergyAustralia Stadium.

And Gold Coast United host Perth Glory in one of the most interesting matches of Round 11. On the same points and only separated by goal difference sitting in 2 and 3 on the ladder there's a lot at stake when these two clubs meet for the second time.

Can Sydney FC hold onto top spot or will they be brought back to the pack as the Hyundai A-League heats up with Round 11.

Stats, facts & milestones

Adelaide United (7) v Sydney FC (1) Friday, 16 October 2009, Hindmarsh Stadium, 7.30pm local (8.00pm AEDT)

- Fresh from their resounding away win over 2008/09 Champions Melbourne Victory, Sydney are aiming to win their second consecutive match on the road for the first time since December-January 2007-08, against 2008/09 runners-up Adelaide United - Gates open at 4.30pm for the Adelaide United v Sydney FC National Youth League match

Brisbane Roar (6) v Central Coast Mariners (5) Saturday, 17 October 2009, Suncorp Stadium, 5.30pm local (6.30pm AEDT)

- Central Coast striker Dylan Macallister is set to make his 100th appearance at Australian national league level. McAllister previously played with Sydney Olympic and Northern Spirit; he as so far made 29 Hyundai A-League appearances with the Mariners

North Queensland Fury (10) v Wellington Phoenix (8 Saturday, 17 October 2009, Dairy Farmers Stadium, 7.30pm local (8.30pm AEDT)

- A draw for the Phoenix will be the club's sixth draw in succession - which would be a new record of consecutive draws in the Hyundai A-League. In fact, the all-time Australian national league record for consecutive draws is six, set by Brisbane Lions (May-July 1980) and St George (January-February 1991) in the old NSL - North Queensland Fury midfielder Jason Spagnuolo is set to make his 50th Hyundai A-League appearance

Newcastle Jets (9) v Melbourne Victory (4) Sunday, 18 October 2009, EnergyAustralia Stadium, 3.00pm local

- Melbourne Victory are aiming to equal a Hyundai A-League record of scoring in most consecutive away matches, 12 - Co-incidentally, the last time the Victory were held scoreless away from home was against Newcastle Jets at EnergyAustralia Stadium, on 18-October 2008 - exactly one year previous to this coming match - Meanwhile, Melbourne's Adrian Leijer is set to make his 50th Hyundai A-League appearance

Gold Coast United (2) v Perth Glory (3) Sunday, 18 October 2009, Skilled Park, 4.00pm local (5.00pm AEDT)

- Undefeated in their previous five matches, Perth Glory are aiming to create a new club record of most consecutive undefeated matches in the Hyundai A-League (six)

Birthday celebrations

- It's not the quantity of birthday's this week but the quality as Sydney FC star Alex Brosque turns 26 today, Monday, 12 October - And Scott Jamieson of Adelaide United turns 21 tomorrow, Tuesday, 13 October

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?