A-League Round 5 – Melbourne Heart v North Queensland Fury

The Heart would have to count themselves unlucky in last weekend’s 2-2 draw with Perth Glory.

The Heart would have to count themselves unlucky in last weekend’s 2-2 draw with Perth Glory.

A dubious 92nd minute penalty denied the new club of their first A-League win but they cannot completely blame the referee as they had the chance to put themselves 3-1 ahead but failed to do so.

Tomorrow they host the Fury whose bubble slightly burst against Adelaide United in front of home fans because of a 3-2 loss.

They are still playing a very attacking brand, as are the Heart, which could make this one a very exciting affair especially seeing John Aloisi included in the squad for his first match with his new club.

Melbourne have improved every match and if they can continue that growth, then they will finally grab their first win over a Fury outfit who will certainly push them to the brink.

Verdict: Heart 2-1.

Melbourne Heart v North Queensland Fury
Date: Saturday, 4 September 2010
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Local kick-off: 5.15pm
Head-to-Head: First meeting
Referee: Gerard Parsons

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1 & FS1 HD. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is 774 ABC (Melbourne), SEN Digital and Zinc 100.7 (Townsville). To purchase tickets visit www.ticketek.com.au

Melbourne Heart squad: 1. Clint BOLTON (gk), 2. Michael MARRONE, 3. Brendan HAMILL, 4. Simon COLOSIMO (c), 5. Michael BEAUCHAMP, 6. Matt THOMPSON, 7. Rutger WORM, 9. Gerald SIBON, 10. Wayne SRHOJ, 11. ALEX TERRA, 12. Peter ZOIS (gk), 15. John ALOISI, 17. Jason HOFFMAN, 19. Eli BABALJ, 21. Kliment TASESKI, 22. Nick KALMAR, 23. Dean HEFFERNAN, 24. Aziz BEHICH *three to be omitted*
In: 5. Michael BEAUCHAMP (returns from injury), 15. John ALOISI (returns from injury), 17. Jason HOFFMAN (promoted)
Out: Nil
Unavailable: Kristian SARKIES (Leg – Indefinite), Josip SKOKO (Hamstring – 4 weeks)

North Queensland Fury squad: 1. Justin PASFIELD (gk), 2. Jack HINGERT, 3. Brad McDONALD, 4. Eric AKOTO, 5. Mark HUGHES, 6. Ufuk TALAY (c), 7. Gareth EDDS, 9. Eugene SSEPPUYA, 10. Dyron DAAL, 11. David WILLIAMS, 12. Panagiotis NIKAS, 14. Chris GROSSMAN, 15. Chris PAYNE, 16. Simon STOREY, 17. Osama MALIK, 18. Brett STUDMAN, 19. Isaka CERNAK, 21. Jason SPAGNUOLO, 28. Jerrad TYSON (gk) *four to be omitted*
In: Eric AKOTO (returns from suspension), Chris GROSSMAN (returns from suspension)
Out: 8. Adam CASEY (Flu virus – 1 week)
Unavailable: 8. Adam CASEY (Flu virus – 1 week), 13. Andre KILIAN (foot injury, 1-2 weeks), 20. Matthew HAM (knee – 5 weeks)

Have your say