My tribe

A-League Round 4 - North Queensland Fury v Adelaide United

This Round 4 fixture reads as a very interesting affair, pitting 2nd against 3rd on the table. The Fury have surprised many with their opening three results but the question is 'how long will it last?'.

New coach Franz Straka will be hoping their fighting spirit can continue for as long as possible but Rini Coolen will bring a determined Reds outfit, fresh off a 3-2 win over Melbourne Heart, to Townsville with one thing in mind - victory.

Adelaide's Dutch coach's style is beginning to wear off on the players and they will take a lot from their performance against the Heart and with striker Sergio van Dijk and midfielder Adam Hughes back in the fray, they are every chance of taking this one out.

The Fury will be without defender Chris Grossman and Eric Akoto who are both suspended from the controversial 2-2 draw with Melbourne Victory last Sunday and that may be enough for the Reds to smell blood and grab a vital away win.

Verdict: Adelaide 2-1.

North Queensland v Fury Adelaide UnitedDate: Saturday 28 August 2010 Venue: Dairy Farmers Stadium, Townsville Local kick-off: 5.15pm AEST Head-to-Head: All matches (played 3): North Queensland Fury 1 win, Adelaide United 1 win (1 draw) Referee: Peter Green

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 3. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is Zinc 100.7 (Townsville) and ABC Digital (Adelaide). To purchase tickets visit www.ticketek.com.au

North Queensland Fury squad: 1. Justin PASFIELD (gk), 2. Jack HINGERT, 3. Brad McDONALD, 5. Mark HUGHES, 6. Ufuk TALAY (c), 7. Gareth EDDS, 8. Adam CASEY, 9. Eugene SSEPPUYA, 10. Dyron DAAL, 11. David WILLIAMS, 12. Panagiotis NIKAS, 15. Chris PAYNE, 16. Simon STOREY, 17. Osama MALIK, 18. Brett STUDMAN, 19. Isaka CERNAK, 20. Matthew HAM (gk), 21. Jason SPAGNUOLO *four to be omitted* In: 2. Jack HINGERT (promoted), 3. Brad McDONALD (promoted), 12. Panagiotis NIKAS (promoted), 21. Jason SPAGNUOLO (promoted) Out: 4. Eric AKOTO (suspended - 1 week), 14. Chris GROSSMAN (suspended - 1 week) Unavailable: 13. Andre KILIAN (foot injury - 2 weeks)

Adelaide United squad: 1.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk), 4.Iain FYFE, 5.Daniel MULLEN, 6.CASSIO, 7.Lucas PANTELIS (c), 8.Adam HUGHES, 9.Sergio VAN DIJK, 10.Marcos FLORES, 12.Paul REID, 16.Inseob SHIN, 17.Iain RAMSAY, 19.Mathew LECKIE, 20.Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk), 24.Cameron WATSON, 26.Joe KEENAN In: Adam HUGHES (returns from suspension), Sergio VAN DIJK (returns from injury), Joe KEENAN (short term replacement) Out: Francesco MONTEROSSO (omitted), Joe COSTA (omitted), Matthew MULLEN (omitted) Unavailable: Nigel BOOGAARD (ankle - 10 weeks), Robert CORNTHWAITE (groin - 1 week), Travis DODD (groin - 5 weeks), Lloyd OWUSU (knee - indefinite), Fabian BARBIERO (ankle - 2 weeks)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?