A-League review – Round 5

Results from A-League Round 5 saw the table begin to take shape and gave us joint leaders at the top.

Adelaide United’s 3-1 win over Sydney FC enabled them to join Perth Glory at the summit of the 11 teams with an identical record after five matches.

The Reds now have three wins and two draws, joining the Glory who managed to get over the Wellington Phoenix 2-1 yesterday. Both clubs are on 11 points and have scored 10 goals and conceded six to share top spot.

On Friday night, Central Coast Mariners continued their good run of form against clubs from Melbourne by defeating the Victory 2-0 to go fourth on the table whilst last season’s runners-up dropped to seventh.

New club Melbourne Heart grabbed their first win – a 1-0 result over North Queensland Fury – to go sixth on equal points with the Fury whilst Newcastle Jets and Brisbane Roar played out a goalless draw to maintain the Roar’s unbeaten and the Jets’ winless starts.

Central Coast Mariners: 2 (Rostyn GRIFFITHS 21’, Daniel MCBREEN 50’)
Melbourne Victory: 0
Date: Friday, 3 September 2010
Venue: Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford
Referee: Chris Beath
Crowd: 6,829
Yellow cards: CCM - Daniel MCBREEN 24’, John HUTCHINSON 29’, Rostyn GRIFFITHS 59’, Joshua ROSE 63’, Mathew RYAN 74’
MV - Rodrigo VARGAS 38’, Adrian LEIJER 55’, Robbie KRUSE 88’

Melbourne Heart: 1 (Nick KALMAR 11’)
North Queensland Fury: 0
Date: Saturday, 4 September 2010
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Referee: Gerard Parsons
Crowd: 4,184
Yellow cards: MH - ALEX TERRA 41’, Wayne SRHOJ 66’
NQF - nil

Sydney FC: 1 (Stephan KELLER 58’)
Adelaide United: 3 (Sergio VAN DIJK 9’/53’, Mathew LECKIE 37’)
Date: Saturday, 4 September 2010
Venue: Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Peter Green
Crowd: 7,558
Yellow cards: SYD - nil

AU - Adam HUGHES 22’, Iain FYFE 57’

Newcastle Jets: 0
Brisbane Roar: 0
Date: Sunday, 5 September 2010
Venue: EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle
Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones
Crowd: 7,066
Yellow cards: NJ - Ruben ZADKOVICH 30’/82’, Tarek ELRICH 45’, Kasey WEHRMAN 75’
BR - Erik PAARTALU 21’, Jean Carlos SOLORZANO 86’
Red cards: NJ - Ruben ZADKOVICH 82’

Perth Glory: 2 (Mile STERJOVSKI 5’, Robbie FOWLER 61’)
Wellington Phoenix: 1 (Ben SIGMUND 72’)
Date: Sunday, 5 September 2010
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Referee: Ben Williams
Crowd: 10,834
Yellow cards: PG - Mile STERJOVSKI 25’
WP - DANIEL 45’, Ben SIGMUND 79’, Troy HEARFIELD 81’

Have your say

Related Images