My tribe

A-League review - Round 3

Round 3 of A-League action saw Perth Glory retain their spot on top of the table as they continued their unbeaten start to the season.

The Glory dominated proceedings to see off Newcastle Jets 1-0 at nib Stadium thanks to a fortuitous first-half goal from Branko Jelic but they were quite clearly the better side and deserved the win.

In other matches, Adelaide United fought off a valiant Melbourne Heart to win 3-2 at Hindmarsh Stadium. Youngster Iain Ramsay netted twice for the Reds who moved to third on the table whilst the Heart dropped to the bottom after their second loss.

Brisbane Roar got their first maximum points of the season with a 1-0 over reigning champions Sydney FC thanks to a goal from skipper Matt McKay which moved them to fifth as the Sky Blues dropped to second bottom.

Melbourne Victory crept up to 9th after a hard-fought and controversial 2-2 draw with North Queensland Fury who had two players sent off but managed to hang on for a point to stay second and Wellington Phoenix scored a 2-0 home win over Central Coast to jump to fourth as the Mariners dropped to sixth.

Adelaide United:3 (Mathew LECKIE 2', Iain RAMSAY 52'/88') Melbourne Heart: 2 (Rutger WORM 42', Eli BABALJ 74') Friday, 20 August 2010 Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide Referee:Ben WilliamsCrowd: 7,370 Yellow Cards:AU - Iain FYFE 5' MH - Rutger WORM 45'+1, Wayne SRHOJ 65', Jason HOFFMAN 75', Michael BEAUCHAMP 84'

Perth Glory:1 (Branko JELIC 45') Newcastle Jets: 0 Saturday, 21 August 2010 nib Stadium, Perth Referee: Matthew Breeze Crowd: 12,031 Yellow cards:PG - Scott NEVILLE 29', Jacob BURNS 59' NJ - Ruben ZADKOVICH 43'

Brisbane Roar:1 (Matt MCKAY 53') Sydney FC: 0 Saturday, 21 August 2010 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Referee: Chris Beath Crowd: 10,339 Yellow Cards:BR - HENRIQUE 40' SYD - Hayden FOXE 10', Scott JAMIESON 39', Sung-Hwan BYUN 45'

Wellington Phoenix:2 (Leo BERTOS 10', Paul IFILL 61') Central Coast Mariners: 0 Sunday, 22 August 2010 Westpac Stadium, Wellington Referee: Peter O'Leary Crowd: 9,553 Yellow Cards:WP - Tony LOCHHEAD 64' CCM - Nik MRDJA 76'

Melbourne Victory: 2 (Kevin MUSCAT 5' (pen)/75' (pen)) North Queensland Fury: 2 (Eugene SSEPPUYA 15', Chris PAYNE 82' (pen)) Sunday, 22 August 2010 AAMI Park, Melbourne Referee: Chris Boyle Crowd: 13,318 Yellow cards:MV - Adrian LEIJER 10', Leigh BROXHAM 51', Mate DUGANDZIC 55', Robbie KRUSE 65', Diogo FERREIRA 81' NQF - nil Red cards:NQF - Chris GROSSMAN 29', Eric AKOTO 81'

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?