My tribe

A-League clubs in line for additional place in ACL

The Asian Football Confederation this week is expected to ratify a move to give Australia the chance to have three teams in the 2013 Asian Champions League. Australia's A-League is ranked joint eighth in Asia at the moment and is allowed only two teams in the event.

Japan, Korea Republic, China, Saudi Arabia and Iran have four teams each.

But if the AFC's approval comes through, a third A-League club would be eligible to play in the tournament albeit via a playoff against a club from lowly-ranked Indonesia, Thailand or Vietnam.

The three teams to represent the A-League in 2013 would be the one finishing first in the premiership, the winner of the grand final and either the runner-up in the premiership or the beaten grand finalist.

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

About the author

Dave Williams

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?