The A-League held its 2008/2009 awards night on Monday night.

Shane Smeltz and Adelaide United figured heavily amongst the awards and a new award was given for the first time, the Foreign Player of the Year.

The results are as follows: Player of the Year (Johnny Warren Medal) 1st - Shane Smeltz (Wellington Phoenix) 2nd - Charlie Miller (Queensland Roar) 3rd - Travis Dodd (Adelaide United)

Golden BootShane Smeltz (Wellington Phoenix, 12 goals)

Goal of the YearShane Smeltz (Wellington Phoenix, Rd. 13 vs Melbourne Victory)

Foreign Player of the Year Charlie Miller (Queensland Roar)

Rising StarScott Jamieson (Adelaide United)

Goalkeeper of the YearEugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)

Coach of the Year Aurelio Vidmar (Adelaide United)